18 Replies Latest reply: Nov 20, 2013 4:13 AM by computerguy RSS

Voyager Legend + BT300

vectrexer Newbie

Will the Voyager Legend work with the  BT300 adapter?  If so, will the Voyager Legend send event to SPOKEs via the adapter?

  • Re: Voyager Legend + BT300
    Mod3 PlantronicsEmployee

    The Voyager Legend will work with the BT300 adapter, yes. However, it will not work optimally until we release a firmware update for the BT300 later this year that will optimize it for use with the Voyager Legend.

    • Re: Voyager Legend + BT300
      drossarg Newbie

      is the firmware update already released for use with the Legend?

       

      thanks

       

      and how can i pair them to get worked?

      • Re: Voyager Legend + BT300
        Mod3 PlantronicsEmployee

        Yes, this firmware update has been made available. Below is a link to where you can update your headset and BT300:

         

        http://www.plantronics.com/us/support/myheadset/updater/


        To your second question - In order to pair your BT300 and Voyager Legend, first put the Legend into pairing mode. To do so, press the voice recognition button and say "Pair mode" or press and hold the call control button until you hear the headset say "pairing". Then, plug the BT300 into a USB port on your computer and the two should find and pair with each other. The Legend will tell you "PC connected" once the two devices have connected.

        • Re: Voyager Legend + BT300
          drossarg Newbie

          Hi Mod3,

           

          I installed the updated firmware. I got it paired with my Legend but i

          can't make calls with it or hear or say anything.

           

          Thanks for the help for my issue.

           

          Kr,

           

          Gil

           

          2012/12/18 Mod3 <

          plantronics-admin@plantronics-community.hosted.jivesoftware.com>

           

          **

              Sounding Board <http://soundingboard.plantronics.com/index.jspa>  Voyager Legend + BT300 created by

          Mod3 <http://soundingboard.plantronics.com/people/Mod3> in *Voyager

          Legend, Mobile, Bluetooth, Voyager PRO Support* - View the full discussion<http://soundingboard.plantronics.com/message/38682#38682>

          • Re: Voyager Legend + BT300
            Mod3 PlantronicsEmployee

            Gil, and you're sure the headset and adapter are connected? You got the "PC connected" notification and the adapter light is solid blue as you use it?

             

            Did you update the firmware on both the headset and the BT300?

             

            Also, do you have the BT300/Legend set as the default audio device on your PC?

            • Re: Voyager Legend + BT300
              drossarg Newbie

              Hi,

               

              Headset and adapter are connected! It said pc connected!

               

              Updated dongle firmware and i thought I updated firmware headset when I

              first hooked it on my pc.

               

              It said on my Pc "voyager pro hd UC" I think. I'm not behind my pc right

              now.

               

              Thanks for the help, I'll try to update my headset again tomorrow.

               

               

              Op woensdag 19 december 2012 schreef Mod3 (

              plantronics-admin@plantronics-community.hosted.jivesoftware.com) het

              volgende:

               

              **

                   Sounding Board <http://soundingboard.plantronics.com/index.jspa>  Voyager Legend + BT300 created by

              Mod3 <http://soundingboard.plantronics.com/people/Mod3> in *Voyager

              Legend, Mobile, Bluetooth, Voyager PRO Support* - View the full discussion<http://soundingboard.plantronics.com/message/38694#38694>

               

            • Re: Voyager Legend + BT300
              drossarg Newbie

              Hi,

               

              just checked and headset and adapter are updated.

               

              I heard PC Connected on my headset.

               

              In attach you can find a screen clip of my headset is connected and a

              screen clip of the device.

               

              thanks for your help.

               

              Kr,

               

               

               

              2012/12/19 Gil Drossart <gildrossart@gmail.com>

               

              Hi,

               

              Headset and adapter are connected! It said pc connected!

               

              Updated dongle firmware and i thought I updated firmware headset when I

              first hooked it on my pc.

               

              It said on my Pc "voyager pro hd UC" I think. I'm not behind my pc right

              now.

               

              Thanks for the help, I'll try to update my headset again tomorrow.

               

              >

              Op woensdag 19 december 2012 schreef Mod3 (

              plantronics-admin@plantronics-community.hosted.jivesoftware.com) het

              volgende:

               

               

              >>      Sounding Board <http://soundingboard.plantronics.com/index.jspa>  Voyager Legend + BT300 created by

              >> Mod3 <http://soundingboard.plantronics.com/people/Mod3> in *Voyager

              >> Legend, Mobile, Bluetooth, Voyager PRO Support* - View the full

              >> discussion <http://soundingboard.plantronics.com/message/38694#38694>

              >>

            • Re: Voyager Legend + BT300
              drossarg Newbie

              Hi Mod3,

               

              Good news!!

               

              I found it and it works now. I didn't knwo that i had to push a button on

              my Legend to make this al work. With the button i mean the talk button.

               

              So now it works.

               

              But i had a call with a Plantronics helpdesk agent and he told me that

              normally it doesn't work optimal and that they received complaints of

              headsets that don't give good quality during the calls with the BT300 and

              that i had to wait for the launch of the Legend UC in Belgium to buy the

              new Dongle.

               

              Could you confirm this?

               

              I'll test it a few days while it works and i'll send you some feedback asap.

               

              Thanks for the help and a Merry Christmas and a happy and healthy 2013.

               

              Greetz from Belgium.

               

              Gil

               

              2012/12/20 Gil Drossart <gildrossart@gmail.com>

               

              Hi,

               

              just checked and headset and adapter are updated.

               

              I heard PC Connected on my headset.

               

              In attach you can find a screen clip of my headset is connected and a

              screen clip of the device.

               

              thanks for your help.

               

              Kr,

               

              >

               

              2012/12/19 Gil Drossart <gildrossart@gmail.com>

               

              >> Hi,

              >>

              >> Headset and adapter are connected! It said pc connected!

              >>

              >> Updated dongle firmware and i thought I updated firmware headset when I

              >> first hooked it on my pc.

              >>

              >> It said on my Pc "voyager pro hd UC" I think. I'm not behind my pc right

              >> now.

              >>

              >> Thanks for the help, I'll try to update my headset again tomorrow.

              >>

              >>

              >> Op woensdag 19 december 2012 schreef Mod3 (

              >> plantronics-admin@plantronics-community.hosted.jivesoftware.com) het

              >> volgende:

              >>

              >> **

              >>>      Sounding Board <http://soundingboard.plantronics.com/index.jspa>  Voyager Legend + BT300 created by

              >>> Mod3 <http://soundingboard.plantronics.com/people/Mod3> in *Voyager

              >>> Legend, Mobile, Bluetooth, Voyager PRO Support* - View the full

              >>> discussion <http://soundingboard.plantronics.com/message/38694#38694>

              >>>

              • Re: Voyager Legend + BT300
                Mod3 PlantronicsEmployee

                Gil - if your BT300 has the latest firmware, it should work optimally with the Legend in the same way that our BT300 works with a Voyager Pro UC. You do not have to purchase a new one or wait until the UC is available in Belgium.

                • Re: Voyager Legend + BT300
                  robertfenton Newbie

                  Hi Mod3 - I've updated both my headset (voyager legend) and the BT300 - still no sound from either a mac or windows PC. Do we need to unpair the devices from each other (BT300 and headset) and repair post updated?

                • Re: Voyager Legend + BT300
                  mamuukko Newbie

                  Hi there!

                   

                  I have a same kind of problem. I have updated both Voyager Legend and BT300 and they have been paired. There are BT300 also shown in control panel/sound. But still nothing comes to handsfree headset... What should I do. I have Windows 8 installed.

                  • Re: Voyager Legend + BT300
                    cristian Newbie

                    There is a solution for that problem? I just have exacly the same problem.

                     

                    The BT300 is recognized by my machine (win8), the headset is present as on of the devices, I'm receiving the is paired message, the BT300 conector is completly blue, but I'm still not able to hear anything in my headset.

                     

                    I've updated the drivers using myheadsetupdater...

                     

                    Any help? I've a BT300 + voyager legend UC.

                     

                    Thanks

                    Cristian

                    • Re: Voyager Legend + BT300
                      tal Newbie

                      Late to this game...  but hope this might help others... 

                       

                      Applies to:  Voyager Legend UC (BT235M) + BT300M dongle.

                       

                      Problem:  No sound at device, even though every indication is that there should be (e.g. BT Dongle glows blue.  Control panel shows sound levels when test tone sent to headset)...  but no audio...

                       

                      Solution:  I had two phones paired to the Voyager at the point in time.  Removed both pairings from the two phones.  Then removed the BT300.  Restarted the Voyager holding call button down until it went to pairing.  Inserted BT300M, and it finally synched "for real".  Retested with control panel audio test. Received audio at headset.

                       

                      My new standard practice will be remove all pairings to the Voyager Legend UC before setting up with the PC so that I'm sure it's ready to work with the BT300 on my machine or another machine I want to use it with.

                • Re: Voyager Legend + BT300
                  nitinma Newbie

                  So there's NO solution to this? Everyone seems to be facing similar kind of issues and I'm the newest - having had Voyager legend UC for a couple of days.

                   

                  I had ZERO problems with my Voyager Pro UC but legend has been disappointing so far - defeats the whole purpose of buying a UC in the first place...    

                  • Re: Voyager Legend + BT300
                    baddaybeav Newbie

                    Install the Plantronics Spokes software, it contains a number of settings regarding this issue.

                     

                    Most namely the ability to autosense when audio hits the device to initiate the connection (not the passive one).

                     

                    When audio is passing the BT300 should flash the blue light on itself off and on.

                     

                    Using that software (plus you get the battery meter) has made the headset work for me perfectly in GoToMeeting, Bria and Lync.

                    • Re: Voyager Legend + BT300
                      vxxo0oxxv Newbie

                      I would be curious to know if anyone has gotten the standard Legend to work with the BT300 without any quality or connection issues. I can tell you, I use it with a Targus BT 4.0 adapter and it works quite well. It seems to support wideband audio. My calls and music come in sounding like A2DP. I'm connected with the HFP profile and have wideband audio turned on from the updater.

                       

                      I can also tell you if you're connecting through a hub, lack of throughput could be your quality issue.

                       

                      I've gotten this adapter to work in Windows 7 with the Broadcom bluetooth package, and Windows 8 plug and play. They are like $30 at Staples.

  • Re: Voyager Legend + BT300
    computerguy Newbie

    I couldn't get my Voyager Legend to pair and work via Bluetooth with my Windows 7 Professional laptop.  I found this solution from Microsoft which worked great!  Now I can skype, google voice, voip, listen to music, speech recognition, etc.

     

    Both of these links are the same solution: 

     

    Make your Bluetooth devices work on Windows 7 - Windows Forums

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2654568