8 Replies Latest reply: Oct 23, 2012 10:47 AM by bornay RSS

GameCom 780 Mic

Blanka Newbie

Hey there all, I recieved my Gamecom a few weeks ago and the audio's been great. However I just started playing with the mic and have discovered that it constantly plays static. I'm using Windows 7 64 bit as my OS, have tested other mics which work perfectly for me, and have played around with all the sound settings available (the lack of any noise suppression feature seems to be the issue with it). So is there anything that I can do? I'd really appreciate any help.

• Re: GameCom 780 Mic
    Del528 Newbie

Hi i have this problem also, i just got my headset last week and i too run windows 7 64 bit and im getting what i can only describe as background static in the when i speak.  

Mod1 PlantronicsEmployee

Do you have WiFi on or anything wireless in the area that could be causing interference or try a different USB port on the computer?  Have you tried unplugging the headset, rebooting the computer and then plug the headset back in to see if this resolves the issue?

Blanka Newbie

I've tried turning off the wireless, changing the USB port, and the rebooting but the problem still persists. However if I disable the audio playback through the earphones and enable my monitors speakers the microphone seems to work without the buzzing noise. Thus it seems to only be an issue when the input and output is through the headset, which is a bit of an annoyance given the reason I purchased it.

Mod1 PlantronicsEmployee

Adam, there sounds like something going on with that headset and I would try replacing it.  If you would like to package the headset up and include your return address and phone number along with a copy of your receipt if you have it and send to:

Plantronics

ATTN: Service Center

345 Encinal Street

Santa Cruz, CA 95060

Blanka Newbie

Thanks for all the help Mod1,